May 302014
Seven Deadly Sins

Seven Deadly Sins

There are seven deadly sins known as the Lord’s abominations, according to verses in the sixth chapter in Proverbs. The first deadly sin mentioned happens to be “haughty eyes.” What exactly does ‘haughty’ mean, you ask?

Haughty is the attitude of being arrogant, feeling superior and/or disdainful of others. It is believing you are better than or above other people. Many people understand the first abomination of the seven deadly sins as being proud or having pride replacing the ‘haughty’ term with ‘pride.’

What is pride? The feeling of satisfaction or pleasure from accomplishments of yourself or a loved one. It can also be from a specific quality you possess. For example, you may be above average with spelling and take pride in your accomplishment to spell words correctly.

Here in America, the culture is to raise our children to be proud of accomplishments. We are raised to believe in ourselves and take pride in our own special abilities. So why is this considered a ‘deadly sin?’

People confuse the definition of ‘haughty’ with ‘pride.’ I believe the definitions are not interchangeable and it leads to confusion of the first deadly sin. Somewhere along the way, the definition of haughty encapsulated or swallowed up the idea of being proud.

The Seven Deadly Sins

  1. Haughty eyes
  2. A lying tongue
  3. Hands that shed innocent blood
  4. A heart that devises wicked plans
  5. Feet that make haste to run to evil
  6. A false witness who breathes out lies
  7. One who sows discord among brothers

The accurate usage of the word ‘haughty’ is one’s idea of being more important than others, or better than other people. This is not the same as being proud. A person can take pride in an accomplishment and not be haughty. There is a difference.